Free Case Evaluation
954-462-1005
  • American Broadcasting Company
  • Bar Register - Preeminent Lawyers 2017 Martindale Hubbell(R)
  • CBS.com
  • NADC
  • NBC
  • Martindale Hubbell Preeminent Lawyers
  • Top Lawyers in Florida 2014
  • CNN
  • NACDA
  • Better Business Bureau
  • Fox
  • The National Trial Lawyers Top 100
  • AVVO
  • HLN TV
  • MSNBC TV
Michael A. Gottlieb, P.A.
“Out of the Box” Defense Strategy
Free Case Evaluation

Reinstating a license after a first-offense DUI isn't easy

It's important to understand that when a person is charged with driving under the influence here in Florida, they are facing some potentially serious consequences. Indeed, this is the case even for a first-offense DUI, as a conviction could result in fines of up to $1,000 and up to six months behind bars. Furthermore, it can also result in a license revocation of anywhere from 180 days all the way up to one year.

It's also important to understand, however, that once this license revocation period is over, a driver's license is not magically reinstated. Indeed, the person affected by the suspension will actually have to complete a rather onerous license reinstatement process

Reinstating a driver's license after a first-offense DUI

If the person elects to wait until the expiration of the revocation period before trying to reinstate their license, they should be aware that they will have to present the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles with proof of either completion of or enrollment in court-ordered treatment and/or DUI School.

In fact, any failure to complete DUI School within 90 days of the license reinstatement will result in automatic cancellation until such time as the coursework is completed. Similarly, the failure the complete court-mandated treatment will also result in automatic cancellation of the license.

A person will also be required to pass the required examination, present proof of adequate insurance, and pay a host of costly fees (administrative fee, reinstatement fee, license fee, etc.).

Hardship licenses

While those convicted of first-offense DUI do have the option of attempting to secure a hardship license granting limited driving privileges, completion of both treatment and DUI School is a prerequisite.

The foregoing once again serves to underscore just how serious the consequences for a DUI conviction -- even for a first offense -- can prove to be. As such, if you are facing drunk driving charges, please do not hesitate to consider speaking with an experienced legal professional as soon as possible.  

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

We Can Help Now

Contact Us Right Away

You need to act fast to get your loved one out of custody. Dial 954-462-1005 to get immediate answers from one of our attorneys. Sending an email is another way to reach us for a free initial consultation. We are available 24/7 and promptly respond to all messages.

Call our Fort Lauderdale office at 954-462-1005 or email us to schedule a meeting to discuss your case. Initial consults are always free of charge.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy