Free Case Evaluation
954-462-1005
  • American Broadcasting Company
  • Bar Register - Preeminent Lawyers 2017 Martindale Hubbell(R)
  • CBS.com
  • NADC
  • NBC
  • Martindale Hubbell Preeminent Lawyers
  • Top Lawyers in Florida 2014
  • CNN
  • NACDA
  • Better Business Bureau
  • Fox
  • The National Trial Lawyers Top 100
  • AVVO
  • HLN TV
  • MSNBC TV
Michael A. Gottlieb, P.A.
“Out of the Box” Defense Strategy
Free Case Evaluation

Are there severe punishments for a first-time DUI offense?

Driving under the influence can land you in trouble with the law, but a first-time offense isn't as severe as a second or third. Your attorney can help you look into the facts of your case, so you can see how to best defend yourself against the potential punishments.

If you've been caught and were driving under the influence of alcohol, controlled substances or chemical substances, you may face several penalties. On a first conviction, you can be charged a minimum of $500 or a maximum of $1,000. If your blood alcohol concentration was over .15, then you can be fined up to $2,000.

On a second conviction, you face higher fines. For a BAC of .08 to .14, you can be fined between $1,000 and $2,000. If your BAC is higher than .15, then you can be charged up to $4,000. The same is true if you have a minor in your vehicle at the time of the stop.

One potential penalty you could face is time working in community service. Sometimes, your attorney can work with the court to negotiate more community service time instead of a jail or prison sentence. On a first conviction, you're required to perform 50 hours of community service or pay an additional fine of $10 for each hour of community service beyond 50 that you've been ordered to perform.

On a first conviction, you may also be placed on probation. The length of incarceration or probation may not exceed 12 months. This is typically up to the discretion of the judge who is ruling on your case.

Source: Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, "Florida DUI and Administrative Suspension Laws," accessed Jan. 13, 2017

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

We Can Help Now

Contact Us Right Away

You need to act fast to get your loved one out of custody. Dial 954-462-1005 to get immediate answers from one of our attorneys. Sending an email is another way to reach us for a free initial consultation. We are available 24/7 and promptly respond to all messages.

Call our Fort Lauderdale office at 954-462-1005 or email us to schedule a meeting to discuss your case. Initial consults are always free of charge.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy