Free Case Evaluation
  • American Broadcasting Company
  • Bar Register - Preeminent Lawyers 2017 Martindale Hubbell(R)
  • NADC
  • NBC
  • Martindale Hubbell Preeminent Lawyers
  • Top Lawyers in Florida 2014
  • CNN
  • Better Business Bureau
  • Fox
  • The National Trial Lawyers Top 100
  • AVVO
  • HLN TV
Michael A. Gottlieb, P.A.
“Out of the Box” Defense Strategy
Free Case Evaluation

What to know about Florida's marijuana laws

Marijuana use is becoming an ever-increasing complex issue throughout the United States. Florida has particularly complicated laws about who can use marijuana and what the penalties are. 

While marijuana may be legal for recreational use in other states, it is still illegal in Florida. However, under certain circumstances, marijuana is legal as long as it is for medicinal purposes. Florida citizens need to be cognizant of new and changing laws. 

What can you use marijuana for in Florida?

If police find marijuana on a Floridian citizen, then that person needs to provide proof of prescription. As of this writing, doctors can prescribe marijuana for the following health conditions. 

  • Multiple sclerosis
  • Parkinson's disease
  • Crohn's disease
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder
  • Glaucoma
  • Epilepsy
  • Cancer
  • Positive for HIV

In 2016, Florida voters overwhelmingly approved the passage of Amendment 2. This provision was formally signed into law in 2017, and it expanded what conditions for which patients could get a marijuana prescription. 

What are the penalties for possessing marijuana in Florida without a prescription?

A person caught carrying illegal marijuana will face various penalties based on several factors. Some of the factors include the amount of marijuana found on a person as well as whether there was any intent to sell. It is a misdemeanor to possess a small amount of marijuana, which comes down to less than 20 grams. With a misdemeanor charge, a person could be facing a $1,000 fine and/or a maximum of one year of incarceration. 

If law enforcement finds more than 20 grams but less than 25 pounds, the penalty can increase to up to $5,000 while the incarceration sentence can go up to five years. Possessing or selling any amount more than 25 pounds is a felony. Additional factors affect what sentences people possessing illegal marijuana would face. 

Things may change in the future regarding marijuana in Florida. For the time being, people should avoid using marijuana for recreational use in the state.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

We Can Help Now

Contact Us Right Away

You need to act fast to get your loved one out of custody. Dial 954-462-1005 to get immediate answers from one of our attorneys. Sending an email is another way to reach us for a free initial consultation. We are available 24/7 and promptly respond to all messages.

Call our Fort Lauderdale office at 954-462-1005 or email us to schedule a meeting to discuss your case. Initial consults are always free of charge.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.


Privacy Policy